Guy’s Cliffe Walled Garden Trust      :       Email: info@guyscliffewalledgarden.org.uk

Welcome to Guy’s Cliffe Walled Garden

The Walled Garden was originally part of the kitchen garden for Guy’s Cliffe House from at least the 1770s to the late 1940s.  In recent years the garden had become totally overgrown & derelict.

Clearance work on the site started in January 2014.  Since then volunteers have contributed over 14,000 hours of work to bring the garden back to life.  


The aim of the volunteer project is to restore the walls and glasshouses and return the site to a working Georgian/Victorian kitchen garden for the enjoyment and educational benefit of the community, and to give an insight into how the garden supported an important country house.   The garden is listed as a Grade II site by English Heritage on the Register of Parks & Gardens of Special Historic Interest.  


The garden is open to the general public on event & volunteer days, from 10am to 3.30pm.

Our next 2017 full Open Days
(with information boards, catering & activities) are:

     Saturday 9th September & Sunday 10th September,

as part of the Heritage Weekend Open Day Scheme.

–  entry is free –  


From March to October, visitors are especially welcome on the
1st and 3rd Sundays of the month to look at our progress.


Visitors are also welcome to pop in on any of our normal volunteer days when we are working in the garden.


If you are interested in

helping to restore the

garden, please come to

one of our volunteer days.


You can follow our progress and receive updates by

signing up to our email list.

Click on the link below:


The Walled Garden before restoration

work began in January 2014

Join us on our

Facebook group at

“Guy’s Cliffe Walled Garden”

Subscribe to emailsLink to Guy's Cliffe Walled Garden Facebook group


The Walled Garden is behind Hintons
Nursery.  

 

Access & parking via Hintons Nursery, Coventry Road,

Guy’s Cliffe,

Warwick  CV34 5FJ


> Click here for map


Volunteer Dates 2017

We shall be working in the garden between
10 am - 3.30 pm on the following dates.
Visitors are always welcome on these days.


 Tuesday 15th Aug

Sunday 20th Aug  (informal visitor day)

Thursday 24th Aug

Tuesday 29th Aug


Sunday 3rd Sept (informal visitor day)

Wednesday 6th Sept /  Friday 8th Sept

           Saturday 9th Sept – HERITAGE OPEN DAY             Sunday 10th Sept – HERITAGE OPEN DAY

Thursday 14th Sept

Sunday 17th Sept (informal visitor day)

Wednesday 20th Sept /  Tuesday 26th Sept


Sunday 1st Oct  (informal visitor day)

Tuesday 10th Oct

 Sunday 15th Oct  (informal visitor day)

Friday 20th Oct / Wed 25th Oct

Monday 30th Oct


More 2017 dates will be announced here soon


  * New volunteers are always welcome,
even if staying only for an hour or two.  


* Tea & coffee are available for volunteers but please bring your own lunch if you are staying all day.


*Tools and gloves provided.

Back to top

Latest News

Artichoke flowers  Newsletter: Review of 2016. 

We had a fantastic charity open day on 22 July. This was the first time we had opened for the National Garden Scheme and we raised over £700 for their nursing charities.  


About 320 visitors came to the garden and many were very complimentary about our progress in the restoration project.  Peter & Mary’s cakes, made from garden produce, proved very popular as usual.


The BBC were also in the garden filming a piece about us for Gardeners’ World shown on 11 August, which was all very exciting. If you missed it, you can see it on YouTube click here.